Songs that George Jones wrote or co-wrote…

Here’s my list of songs that George Jones wrote or co-wrote…

After seeing the recent posts on tumblr from classiccountry about the songwriting of George Jones…

I dug out my crate of old George Jones vinyl to investigate…

I own near 100 albums by the Possum…

Mostly original albums on the Starday, Mercury, United Artists, Musicor, and Epic labels…

Also a bunch of re-issues on all kinds of labels like Nashville, Wing, Pickwick, Allegiance, Liberty, RCA, Rounder, and Ace… 

Especially on the re-issues, songwriting credits are not always listed…

Plus there’s a bunch more George albums I don’t own, so I’m sure there are a few more songs to add this list…

So this is by no means anywhere near a complete list, just a darn good start…

 

Songs written by just George Jones:

I’m Ragged, But I’m Right

You Gotta Be My Baby

It’s Okay

Let Him Know 

Play It Cool

Rock It

Boogie Woogie Mexican Boy

Boat Of Life 

Still Hurtin’

My Sweet Imogene

How Come It

Don’t Do This To Me

Just One More

Gonna Come Get You

Uh, Uh No

Glad To Let Her Go

One Is A Lonely Number

You’re In My Heart

Maybe Little Baby

All I Want To Do

Giveaway Girl

Someone Sweet To Love

Long Time To Forget

Don’t Stop The Music

No Money In This Deal

Don’t Do This To Me

Slave Lover

Eskimo Pie

I’m With The Wrong One

Take The Devil Out Of Me

No Use To Cry

The Window Up Above

Life To Go

You Done Me Wrong

Forgive Me Now


Songs co-written with Darrell Edwards:

Why Baby Why

What Am I Worth 

Your Heart

Seasons Of My Heart

Root Beer

Battle Of Love

Accidently On Purpose

Everything Ain’t Right

Tender Years 

Who Shot Sam (also co-written with Ray Jackson)

That’s All It Took (also co-written with C. Grier)

Three’s A Crowd (also co-written with Herbie Treece)

Mr. Fool  (also co-written with Herbie Treece)

Out Of Control  (also co-written with Herbie Treece)

 

Songs co-written with Lester Blackwell:

I’m Gonna Burn Your Playhouse Down

A New Baby For Christmas

 

Songs co-written with Burl Stephens:

Taggin’ Along

Cup Of Lonliness

The Good Old Bible


Song co-written with Eddie Eddings:

Yearning


Songs co-written with L. Henderson:

Settle Down

Your Heart


Song co-written with Jimmy Yancey:

Frozen Heart


Song co-written with M. Broadway:

Y’all Goodnight


Song co-written with B. Dudley:

Wandering Soul


Songs co-written with J.P. Richardson:

If I Don’t Love You (Grits Ain’t Groceries)

Rain, Rain (also co-written with Roger Miller)


Song co-written with Lawton Williams:

Color Of The Blues


Songs co-written with Roger Miller:

Hearts In My Dreams

Gotta Talk To Your Heart

That’s The Way I Feel

Nothing Can Stop My Love

Tall, Tall Trees

Rain, Rain (also co-written with J.P. Richardson)


Songs co-written with George Ripley:

She’s Lonesome Again

She’s Mine


Song co-written with Hank Locklin:

You’re Back Again


Song co-written with Virginia Spurlock:

Flame In My Heart


Song co-written with Sid Kassel:

Vitamins L-O-V-E


Songs co-written with G. Riddle:

I’ll Never Let Go Of You

A Real Close Friend

Your Kind Of Loving Won’t Do

Lonesome Old Town 

Lonesome Life


Song co-written with Hal Rugg:

Jonesy


Song co-written with James O’Gwynn:

I Won’t Love You Anymore


Song co-written with Leon Payne:

Take Me


Songs co-written with Earl “Peanut” Montgomery:

Small Town Laboring Man

Til I Hear It From You

Four-O-Thirty Three

A Drunk Can’t Be A Man

Baby, There’s Nothing Like You

Hard Act To Follow

We’re Gonna Hold On

If You Loved A Liar (You’d Hug My Neck)

Ship Of Love (also co-written with Donny Young)

I Wanta Sing (also co-written with E. Rowell)

A Goodbye Joke (also co-written with C. Montgomery)

 

Songs co-written with “Country” Johnny Mathis: 

I Get Lonely In A Hurry

Ain’t It Funny What A Fool Will Do

A Good Old Fashioned Cry (also co-written with V. Franks)

Brown To Blue (also co-written with V. Franks)

 

Songs co-written with Tammy Wynette:

I Know

Never Grow Cold

I Made Leaving (Easy For You)

Our Private Life

Wean Me

Bring On The Clowns (also co-written with Billy Sherrill)


Song co-written with J. Peppers:

I Just Don’t Give A Damn

 

Song co- written with B. Emerson:

 I Don’t Want No Stranger Sleepin’ In My Bed 


Song co-written with Glenn Martin:

No Show Jones

 

Leave a Reply

